Another Microsoft Unicode I/O Problem

I encountered an annoying bug in Visual C++ 2017 recently. It started when I found my favourite logging library, Easylogging++, output Chinese as garbage characters on Windows. Checking the documentation carefully, I noted that I should have used the macro START_EASYLOGGINGPP. It turned out to be worse: all output starting from the Chinese character was gone. Puzzled but busy, I put it down and worked on something else.

I spend another hour of detective work on this issue today. The result was quite surprising.

  • First, it is not an issue with Easylogging++. The problem can occur if I purely use std::wcout.
  • Second, the magical thing about START_EASYLOGGINGPP is that it will invoke std::locale::global(std::locale("")). This is the switch that leads to the different behaviour.
  • Myteriously, with the correct locale setting, I can get the correct result with both std::wcout and Easylogging++ in a test program. I was not able to get it working in my real project.
  • Finally, it turns out that the difference above is caused by /MT vs. /MD! The former (default if neither is specified on the command line) tells the Visual C++ compiler to use the static multi-threading library, and the latter (set by default in Visual Studio projects) tells the compiler to use the dynamic multi-threading library.

People may remember that I wrote about MSVCRT.DLL Console I/O Bug. While Visual C++ 2013 shows consistent behaviour between /MT and /MD, Visual C++ 2015 and 2017 exhibit the same woeful bug when /MD is specified on the command line. This is something perplexingly weird: it seems someone at Microsoft messed up with the MSVCRT.DLL shipped with Windows first (around 2006), and then the problem spread to the Visual C++ runtime DLL after nearly a decade!

I am using many modern C++ features, so I definitely do not want to go back to Visual C++ 2013 for the new project. It seems I have to tolerate garbage characters in the log for now. Meanwhile, I submitted a bug to Microsoft. Given that I have a bug report that is deferred for four years, I am not very hopeful. But let us wait and see.

One thought on “Another Microsoft Unicode I/O Problem

Leave a Reply

